July 07, 2017

Iceberg naming conventions

This from the BBC:

′• Icebergs are blocks of ice that cover at least 500 sq m

• Any smaller and they are called "growlers" or "bergy bits"

• The US National Ice Center runs the naming system for bergs 

• It divides Antarctica into quadrants - A,B, C and D

• Larsen icebergs get an "A" designation when they calve

• They also get the next number in the sequence of sightings